top of page

Specialist Knowledge for Teaching Mathematics - Primary Early Career Teachers
Develop mathematical subject knowledge and understand the pedagogy that underpins the teaching of it

Who can take part?

Phase A Communities in this project are for those identified as Early Career Teachers – teachers in their first or second year of teaching. Phase B Communities are for those in the early part of their careers. They will have engaged with Phase A before engaging with this phase.

What is involved?

Two maths-specific subject knowledge projects are available to support primary Early Career Teachers (ECTs) – one is for ECTs who have not yet participated in this project and one is for those who participated in 2022/23. Both projects offer high-quality subject knowledge and pedagogy maths support for ECTs, recognising the requirements of the ECF.

This programme strikes a balance between developing teachers’ maths subject knowledge and pedagogical content knowledge, alongside classroom practice to support the learning of maths. Participants will attend the equivalent of up to four days of sessions, focusing between sessions on the use of tasks in the classroom.

What will you learn?

  • Your pupils will be seen to elaborate when responding to questions, showing that their answer stems from a secure understanding

  • You will identify essential concepts, knowledge, skills within the topic area and provide opportunity for all pupils to learn and master these critical components

  • You will develop an understanding of approaches to assess pupils’ prior learning, so that learning sequences are planned to take this into account

What is the cost?

The SKTM Primary Early Career Teachers Programme is fully funded by the Maths Hubs Programme so is free to participating schools.

Phase A Dates: 

Phase A-Cambourne Village College,9:45am -2:45pm

Friday 19th January

Friday 8th March 

Friday 3rd May 

Friday 14th June 

Phase A-Old Nene Golf Club, Ramsey .9:45am - 2:45pm
Thursday 1st February 
Thursday 7th March
Friday 10th May 
Wednesday 19th  June

Phase B Dates:

 Cambourne Village College, 10:00 - 3:00pm .
Monday 13th November 2023    
Monday 5th February 2024    
Monday 4th March 2024    
Monday 10th June 2024    

March Golf Club, 10:00 - 3:00pm .
Monday 20th November 20023
Monday 12th February 2024
Monday 11th March 2024
Monday 17th June 2024

 

bottom of page